top of page

Summer Brings the Heat to Autocross #7

Irvine, CA—The heat was on for over 120 members of Cal Club Autocross at the seventh event of the 2017 season on Sunday, July 9 at El Toro Marine Base. With temperatures nearing 100 degrees, competitors had to battle the elements in addition to their competitors on the transition-y runway style course. In the first group of the day, Matt Jones led wire-to-wire in the 10-person A Street class to claim a 3.3 second victory over second-place Will Flores. Randy Gonzalez finished third while Sara Odioso was a tenth back in fourth. For the second event in a row, Max Hayter emerged victorious in D Street, taking an eight-tenths win over Jason Isley. The second largest class of the morning, California Street Touring, witnessed Michael Bradley take home his first win of the year with a .221 victory over Jeff Wong following a 1.2 second drop in time from his third and fourth runs. Jonathan Hartendorp finished third just .006 back, while Jonathan Lugod was fourth (on another note, Adrian Cardenas, who finished seventh, ultimately had the winning time on his fourth run, but hit a cone). Marco Cruz stood on his second run to win Street Mod Combined (which consisted of cars from SM, SMF, and SSM) by .668 against Matt Davis. Dennis Hubbard won E Street by also utilizing a fast second run, claiming a one second victory over Mark Wolfe. F Street champion Myles Wakayama dropped time on all four of his runs, ultimately taking the one second win over Sidney Chang. Street Touring Roadster was the largest class of the day with 17 participants. Jason Munchhof cleaned up his act and went faster on his fourth run to take the crown over James Yom, who coned what would have been the winning run earlier in the group. Ken Motonishi placed third nearly half a second behind Yom, while Reed Gibson rounded out the final trophy spot in fourth. Brian Howlett continued his perfect streak in Historic 1, winning the class for the seventh time this season. Likewise, Tom Tanquary won B Street for the fifth time this year, while Michael Parker won G Street also for the fifth time this season. After hitting cones on his first three runs, Scott McHugh got a clean one in the books to win H Street by sixth-tenths over Silvio Zucchet. Following the lunch break, Junior A and Junior B took to the course with Tomo Wakayama picking up his first win of the year in JA, and Shelby Baltazar wining JB for the sixth time this season. George White improved in each of his four runs to win Super Stock R by 1.3 seconds over Cathy Strovers. Despite driving a different car than normal, Tom Berry won PAX by three tenths over Mark DeShon, who, like co-driver Jeff Stuart, only completed two of four runs. Meanwhile, Matthew Gonzalez stood on his second run to win Street Touring eXtreme, besting Brian Tilly by over four seconds. Greg Nelson won the five-driver Classic American Muscle Contemporary class by besting Paul Molina by almost nine-tenths. Scott Mullens finished third and would have taken home top honors if he hadn’t coned his second and third runs, both of which had raw times to win. Stephen Yeoh came out of the gate strong in Street Touring Sport to hold the early lead, but Pete Loney cleaned up three dirty runs with a fast fourth run to leapfro

g Yeoh for the .057 victory. Unlike her father, Neelu Yeoh was in second place in PAX Ladies until the last run, where she improved in time to move ahead of Jessica Pao by .255. Cal Club Autocross returns to El Toro for the eighth event of the season on Sunday, July 30.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Categories
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page